Multiple DWI Charges in Louisiana
Retain a Proven St. Bernard Parish DWI Attorney To Fight for You
It only takes a single lapse in judgment for an otherwise law-abiding citizen to be charged with a DWI offense. However, when an individual is charged with second or subsequent DWI, the court's perception is that that individual poses a continual threat to the community and could even have a substance abuse problem. To act as a deterrent, Louisiana has increasingly harsh penalties for those who have been charged with multiple DWI offenses.
If you have been charged with your second, third, or fourth DWI offense, we invite you to contact us at The Law Offices of Dan A. Robin, Jr. today. Attorney Dan Robin, Jr. has been defending the rights of the accused for more than two decades and operates on the philosophy that every individual deserves to have their rights protected and voice heard before our criminal justice system. Clients who choose our firm can always rest assured that knowledgeable and diligent counsel will be tirelessly pursuing the best possible outcome of their case.
It's your future; protect it with a St. Bernard Parish multiple DWI lawyer capable of securing results. Call us today at (504) 267-2440!
Multiple DWI Penalties
When properly defended, a first-time DWI conviction can result in relatively mild penalties. However, Louisiana's DWI statutes provide increasingly harsh penalties for repeat offenders that can not only greatly interrupt the life of the accused but also leave them with a significant criminal record.
Maximum penalties for repeat DWI offenses in Louisiana can include:
- Second offense: $1,000 fine / 6 months in jail / 1-year license suspension
- Third offense: $2,000 fine / 5 years in jail / 2-year license suspension
- Fourth offense: $5,000 fine / 30 years in prison / 2-year license suspension
Ignition interlock devices and other penalties are also possible if a conviction is reached.
For more information on what specific penalties you could be facing for your second or subsequent DWI charge, call us at (504) 267-2440 today.
Louisiana's Lookback Period
Like other states, Louisiana has what is known as a "lookback" or "washout" period. This is a certain period of time in which prior DWI convictions can still count against you. In Louisiana, the lookback period is 10 years.
So, for example, let's say "Anthony" was charged with a DWI in 2015. He has been convicted twice before—once in 2011 and once in 1999. Even though his latest DWI charge is the third of his lifetime, to the courts, it will only be considered his second. This is because his first, in 1999, occurred outside that 10-year lookback period.
Have more questions about your second or subsequent DWI charge? Want to know what our firm can do to challenge the case against you and pursue a dismissal or reduction? Contact us today to schedule a case evaluation.
Great representation! Open communication and very responsive.- Jill D.
Dan and his staff took care of everything for us in a professional, timely manner.- Chris M.
The Law Offices of Dan Robin exceeded all of our expectations.- Cherie J.
Dan and his team handled the case with professionalism and determination.- Paul R.
Dan and his law firm make you feel like you are their only client!- Joyce S.
Personal Injury $1,500,000.00
Car Accident $1,200,000.00
Car Accident $900,000
Personal Injury $350,000
Car Accident $250,000