Accused Of Your First DWI in Louisiana?
St. Bernard Parish DWI Lawyer
Any time that you or a loved one have been accused of driving while intoxicated in Louisiana, it is essential that you hire a defense lawyer as soon as possible. Louisiana is notoriously harsh on those accused of drunk driving, and with the increased pressure from private organizations to make DWI penalties even more severe, it is in your best interests to get the legal help you need as soon as possible. Even a first-time DWI arrest, while it may not seem drastic, can have a lifetime of consequences.
As a New Orleans native, Attorney Dan A. Robin, Jr. has spent his career serving those needing aggressive criminal defense in St. Bernard Parish and the surrounding areas. To date, The Law Offices of Dan A. Robin, Jr. has handled over 2,500 criminal cases. When you have been accused of DWI or another crime, you need our firm on your side.
Call (504) 267-2440 now to put over 20 years of legal experience on your side.
Penalties For a First DWI in Louisiana
Under Louisiana law, you can be accused of drunk driving if your blood alcohol content measures at 0.08 percent or above. As an implied consent state, Louisiana mandates that anyone with a driver's license must submit to a chemical test to determine their BAC following an arrest on suspicion of DWI. If you are convicted of a first-time DWI charge, you are facing serious penalties.
A first-time DWI carries:
- Minimum two days to six months in jail
- $1,000 fine
- 90-day license suspension
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle
- Community service
Many states have a look-back period for DWI convictions, and Louisiana is no exception. Once you have one DWI conviction, any additional arrests within a 10-year period counts as a multiple DWI. Multiple DWIs carry drastically harsher penalties that become stricter with each additional conviction. No one can afford a criminal record; our St. Bernard Parish first-time DWI lawyer can help ensure that the charges against you are reduced or eliminated as possible.
A first-time DWI arrest can be particularly harsh if you had a BAC above 0.15 percent, were underage at the time of the arrest, are in possession of a commercial driver’s license, or were driving with someone under the age of 18 in the car. Working with a DWI attorney allows you to discuss the details of your case, including the possibility to reduce the charge to a wet reckless or other lesser crime, and fight back against your criminal allegations.
Working with The Law Offices of Dan A. Robin, Jr. is your first step in defending against first-time DWI charges. We can examine your case from all angles, including challenging the validity of the traffic stop and/or the BAC results, and fight to secure the best possible outcome.
Great representation! Open communication and very responsive.- Jill D.
Dan and his staff took care of everything for us in a professional, timely manner.- Chris M.
The Law Offices of Dan Robin exceeded all of our expectations.- Cherie J.
Dan and his team handled the case with professionalism and determination.- Paul R.
Dan and his law firm make you feel like you are their only client!- Joyce S.
Personal Injury $1,500,000.00
Car Accident $1,200,000.00
Car Accident $900,000
Personal Injury $350,000
Car Accident $250,000