Multiple DWI Charges in Louisiana
Retain a Proven St. Bernard Parish DWI Attorney Ready to Look Out for You
It only takes a single lapse in judgment for an otherwise law-abiding citizen
to be charged with
DWI offense. However, when an individual is charged with second or subsequent DWI,
the court's perception is that that individual poses a continual threat
to the community and could even have a substance abuse problem. To act
as a deterrent, Louisiana provides increasingly harsh penalties to those
who have been charged for multiple DWI offenses.
If you have been charged with your second, third, or fourth DWI offense,
we invite you to contact us at
The Law Offices of Dan A. Robin, Jr. today.
Attorney Robin, Jr. has been defending the rights of the accused for more than two decades
and operates on the philosophy that every individual deserves to have
their rights protected and voice heard before our criminal justice system.
Clients who choose our firm can always rest assured that knowledgeable
and diligent counsel will be tirelessly pursuing the best possible outcome
of their case.
It's your future—protect it with a St. Bernard Parish criminal
defense lawyer capable of securing results.
Call us today.
Multiple DWI Penalties
When properly defended, a
first-time DWI conviction is likely to yield relatively mild penalties. However, Louisiana's
DWI statutes provide increasingly harsh penalties for repeat offenders
that can not only greatly interrupt the life of the accused, but leave
them with a significant criminal record.
Maximum penalties for repeat DWI offenses in Louisiana can include:
- Second offense: $1,000 fine / 6 months in jail / 1-year license suspension
- Third offense: $2,000 fine / 5 years in jail / 2-year license suspension
- Fourth offense: $5,000 fine / 30 years in prison / 2-year license suspension
Ignition interlock devices and other penalties are also possible if a conviction
is reached. For more information on what specific penalties you could
be facing for your second or subsequent DWI charge,
call us at (504) 267-2440 today.
Louisiana's Lookback Period
Like other states, Louisiana has what is known as a "lookback"
or "washout" period. This is a restricted period of time into
the past where prior DWI convictions can still count against you. In Louisiana,
the lookback period is 10 years.
So, for example, let's say "Anthony" has been charged with
a DWI in 2015. He has been convicted twice before—once in 2011 and
once in 1999. Even though his latest DWI charge is the third of his lifetime,
to the courts, it will only be considered his second. This is because
his first, in 1999, occurred outside that 10-year lookback period.
Have more questions about your second or subsequent DWI charge? Want to
know what our firm can do to challenge the case against you and pursue
a dismissal or reduction? Contact us today to schedule a
free case evaluation.