Accused Of Your First Louisiana DWI?

St. Bernard Parish DWI Lawyer Fights For You

Any time that you or a loved one have been accused of driving while intoxicated in Louisiana, it is essential that you hire a defense lawyer as soon as possible. Louisiana is notoriously harsh for those accused of drunk driving, and with the increased pressure from private organizations to make these penalties even more severe, it is in anyone’s best interests to get the help they need as soon as possible. Even a first time DWI arrest, while may not seem drastic, can have a lifetime of consequences.

As a New Orleans native, Attorney Dan A. Robin, Jr. has spent his career serving St. Bernard Parish and those needing aggressive criminal defense. To date, The Law Offices of Dan A. Robin, Jr., LLC has handled over 2,500 criminal cases. When you have been accused of DWI or another crime, you need our firm on your side. Call now to put over 20 years of legal experience on your side.

Penalties For a First DWI

Under Louisiana law, you can be accused of drunk driving if your blood alcohol content measures at 0.08% or above. As an implied consent state, those driving submit to a chemical test to determine their BAC following their arrest. If you are convicted of a first time DWI charge, you are facing serious penalties.

A first time DWI carries:

  • Minimum two days to six months in jail
  • $1,000 fine
  • 90 day license suspension
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Community service

Many states have a lookback period for DWI convictions, and Louisiana is no exception. Once you have one DWI conviction, any additional arrests within a 10 year period counts as a multiple DWI. Multiple DWI’s carry drastically more harsh penalties that become stricter. No one can afford a criminal record, and our DWI lawyer can ensure that the charges against you are reduced or eliminated as possible.

A first time DWI arrest can be particularly harsh if you had a BAC above 0.15%, were underage at the time of the arrest, are in possession of a commercial driver’s license, or were driving with someone under the age of 18 in the car. Working with a DWI attorney allows you to discuss the details of your case, including the possibility to reduce the charge to a wet reckless or other lesser crime, and fight back against your criminal allegations.

Working with the Law Offices of Dan A. Robin, Jr., LLC is your first step for defense when you have been accused of a DWI. As a St. Bernard Parish DWI lawyer, we can examine your case from all angles, including challenging the validity of the traffic stop and the BAC results, and secure your best outcome.

We listen to your version of the story.

Request your free case evaluation below or call (504) 267-2440.

Get a Free Consultation